The goal of this sub-project is to investigate Berlin’s mobility transition as a transformation process and thereby contribute to a basic scientific understanding of the social dynamics of sustainable mobility. Furthermore, new possibilities to shape a sustainable transport system are being developed using inter- and transdisciplinary research methods. The results of this sub-project will adapt the lessons and experiences of the Berlin transformation process in order to support other cities in their mobility transition.

Will the mobility transition make room for more apartments? What will the city look like after the mobility transition? When you walk eyes-open through our car-centred cities, you quickly notice how much public space automobile infrastructure occupies: gas stations, car washes, garages, car dealerships and rentals, car parks, and recycling facilities. In his project, Alexander Czeh documents all these areas and investigates how many of them will still be needed after the mobility transition and whether some can be repurposed for living, climate adaptation measures, or urban agriculture.

In her doctoral thesis, Katharina Götting addresses social representations regarding cycling, cyclists, and cycling infrastructure as well as their relationship with acceptance and behaviour changes in response to new cycling infrastructure. A pre-post-survey will be conducted before and after the implementation of a new protected bike lane.

Every year, people die in traffic. Marlene Sattler’s research plan explores the media discourse on people killed in urban traffic in the wake of the law during the development of Berlin’s mobility law. Discourse coalitions are identified, examined in the context of significant events such as quiet demonstrations remembering killed cyclists, and analysed by means of the institutional work concept. institutional work analysiert.

Social issues are receiving increasing awareness in the debate around mobility behaviour, the necessity of a mobility transition, and adequate measures to reach this end. Thus, poverty and exclusion research have been linked to questions of transport (cf. Schwedes & Rammler 2018; Manderscheid 2014) and the concept of environmental justice has been introduced to mobility research (cf. Sheller 2014, 2020). Nonetheless, the social dimension of sustainability plays only a minor role in the transport sector as is the case with many other areas relevant to sustainability.

Foto: Bauer (2020)

This sub-project experimentally examines how to improve the environmental quality of cities, create public spaces for residents, and enable healthy forms of mobility. In a real-world experiment, an intersection in the Berlin district of Charlottenburg is temporarily turned into a public square for the neighbourhood. Additionally, the transdisciplinary process of introducing a pedestrian zone in the district of Kreuzberg is analysed.

Das Ziel dieses Teilprojekts ist es, die Berliner Verkehrswende als Transformationsprozess zu erforschen und zu einem grundlegenden wissenschaftlichen Verständnis der sozialen Dynamiken nachhaltiger Mobilität beizutragen. Darüber hinaus werden mithilfe inter- und transdisziplinärer Forschungsmethoden neue Gestaltungsmöglichkeiten für ein nachhaltigeres Verkehrssystem erarbeitet. Die Ergebnisse dieses Teilprojekts sollen die Erkenntnisse und Erfahrungen aus dem Berliner Transformationsprozess so aufbereiten, dass sie für die Gestaltung einer Verkehrswende in anderen Städten nutzbar sind.

Mehr Wohnungen durch die Verkehrswende? Wie sieht die Stadt nach der Verkehrswende aus? Wer mit offenen Augen durch unsere von der autogerechten Stadtplanung geprägten Städte läuft, erfasst schnell, dass Automobilinfrastruktur durch Tankstellen, Waschanlagen, Werkstätten, Autohäuser, Autoverleihe, Parkhäuser, Reifenhändler und Recyclinghöfe große städtische Flächen einnimmt. Alexander Czehs Arbeit erfasst diese und untersucht wie viele dieser Flächen nach der Verkehrswende noch benötigt werden und ob Flächen der Automobilinfrastruktur z. B. für Wohnungen, Klimaanpassungsmaßnahmen oder urbane Landwirtschaft genutzt werden könnten.

Katharina Götting beschäftigt sich im Rahmen ihrer Dissertation mit sozialen Repräsentationen bezüglich Radfahren, Radfahrer*innen und Rad-Infrastruktur und deren Zusammenhang mit Akzeptanz und Verhaltensänderungen im Kontext neuer Rad-Infrastruktur. Als Forschungsdesign ist eine Prä-Post-Befragung vorgesehen, die vor und nach der Implementierung eines neuen geschützten Radweges durchgeführt wird.

Jedes Jahr sterben Menschen im Straßenverkehr. Das Forschungsvorhaben von Marlene Sattler widmet sich der Frage, wie der Diskurs über getötete Menschen im Straßenverkehr vor dem Hintergrund der Entstehung des Mobilitätsgesetzes in Berlin geführt wird. Es werden Diskurskoalitionen ausgemacht, im Kontext von diskursprägenden Ereignissen wie Mahnwachen für getötete Radfahrer:innen untersucht und mit Hilfe des Konzepts des institutional work analysiert.

Soziale Aspekte gewinnen in den aktuellen Diskursen über Mobilitätsverhalten, über die Notwendigkeit einer Verkehrswende und über geeignete Maßnahmen dieser immer mehr an Bedeutung. So wird die Armuts- und Exklusionsforschung verstärkt mit Verkehrs- und Mobilitätsforschung verknüpft (vgl. Schwedes & Rammler 2018; Manderscheid 2014) und das Konzept der Umweltgerechtigkeit wird mit Mobilitätsfragen verbunden (vgl. Sheller 2014, 2020). Dennoch spielt die soziale Dimension der Nachhaltigkeit des Verkehrssektors, ebenso wie in anderen Nachhaltigkeitskontexten, eine untergeordnete Rolle.

Foto: Bauer (2020)

Im Forschungsvorhaben wird experimentell untersucht, wie urbane Aufenthaltsqualitäten erhöht, öffentliche Räume für die Stadtbewohner*innen geschaffen und eine gesundheitsfördernde Fortbewegung ermöglicht werden kann. Im Rahmen eines Realexperiments wird eine Kreuzung in Berlin Charlottenburg für einen temporären Zeitraum in einen Stadtplatz umgewandelt. Zudem wird eine Umgestaltung zur Fußgängerzone in Berlin Kreuzberg im Rahmen eines transdisziplinären Prozesses begleitet und erforscht.