Fachtagung_Logo_2022-07-12

The interdisciplinary junior research group EXPERI invited stakeholders from research, administration, urban and mobility planning, civil society and business to present the interim results. Successfully implementing the transport transition also means rethinking and redistributing the scarce resource of public space. Therefore, we presented first research results around the topic of space distribution and redesign and were happy to discuss them together with you.

When: Thursday, 06.10.2022 | Friday, 07.10.2022

Where: POP KUDAMM - Place of Participation, Kurfürstendamm 229, 10719 Berlin

EXPERI symposium 2022 at POP KUDAMM | Photos: Peter Schust, EXPERI
POP2

In addition to the presentation of the research results, there was a keynote speech on the Berlin Mobility Act, further interface results from the DLR research project "Networked Mobility for Liveable Places" (VMo4Orte) as well as excursions to three places of the transport transformation in Berlin.


Program review:
Thursday, 06.10.2022

Moderation:

10:00

Opening
Dr Julia Jarass, EXPERI / German Aerospace Centre (DLR) Institute of Transport Research

10:10

Keynote speech: Berlin Mobility Act
Prof. Dr Sophia Becker, Mobility Researcher / Vice President for Sustainability, Internal Communication, Transfer and Transdisciplinarity at the Technische Universität Berlin

10:30 - 11:30

Session 1: Justice in the mobility transition
Theoretical scientific but also public discourses about the unjust status quo of mobility are increasing. This session will focus on developing a comprehensive understanding of justice in mobility. This understanding will not only deal with the question of which aspects influence the distribution of mobility in which way, but also with the question of participation as a mechanism to make injustices visible and addressable. How does the Berlin mobility transition involve participation? Together, we will then consider what insights we can take away for the planning and implementation of the mobility transition.

  • Lecture: Justice in the mobility transition – distribution and participation issues of the (Berlin) mobility transition | Anke Kläver, EXPERI / Institute for Transformative Sustainability Research in Potsdam (IASS) and Victoria Luh, Institute for Transformative Sustainability Research in Potsdam (IASS)

11:30 - 11:50

Introduction: Visual Utopias
Jan Kamensky: "(...) I'm convinced that it's important to see what happens if we transform car-dominated streets into human-friendly places. My utopian animations present visual arguments for change. (...)"

11:50 - 13:30

Lunch break & visit of the exhibition with visualisations "Visual Utopias" by Jan Kamensky

13:30 - 15:00

Session 2: Streets become squares & neighbourhood blocks - insights from the (temporary) redesign
This session is about the transformation of street space into liveable places. We will explore the question of how these changes in the form of real world experiments are perceived and accepted by the population and what the implications are for the actors involved from research, administration and civil society. Within the concept of EXPERI, three (temporary) redesigns in three Berlin districts were researched and partly initiated. This leads to visible changes in the infrastructure, which among other things presuppose (behavioural) changes by previously privileged road users and can lead to reactance. The question therefore arises as to how a profound acceptance can be created in the Berlin population. This will be examined, among other things, on the basis of psychological factors and will consider the role of emotions in the context of the transport transition and how they should be dealt with. The effects of the redesigns on noise and traffic flow are being investigated as part of the DLR project VMo4Orte - Networked Mobility for Liveable Places. The findings collected will be presented in this session.

  • Lecture: The transport transition under a burning glass - experiences from three (temporary) redesigns in Berlin | Dr Julia Jarass, EXPERI / German Aerospace Centre (DLR) Institute of Transport Research
  • Lecture: Acceptance of neighbourhood blocks - What role do emotions and perceived fairness play? Katharina Götting | EXPERI / Institute for Transformative Sustainability Research in Potsdam (IASS)

15:00 - 15:30

Coffee break

15:30 - 16:30

Panel/fishbowl discussion: Transferability into practice
With representatives of a.o. the Berlin districts and together with the audience, we will discuss the benefits of the findings on land redistribution in practice and what adjustments can be made.

  • Saskia Ellenbeck, District Councilor for Order, Roads, Green Spaces, Environment and Nature Conservation | District office Tempelhof-Schöneberg
  • Kirsten Pfaue, coordinator for the mobility transition of the city of Hamburg
  • Oliver Schruoffeneger, district councilor for order, environment, roads and green spaces | District Office Charlottenburg-Wilmersdorf
  • Felix Weisbrich, Head of the Roads and Parks Office | District Office Friedrichshain-Kreuzberg
Felix Weisbrich, Saskia Ellenbeck, Dr. Tanja Busse, Oliver Schruoffeneger, Kirsten Pfaue | Foto: Dominik Buhl, EXPERI
Felix Weisbrich, Saskia Ellenbeck, Dr. Tanja Busse, Oliver Schruoffeneger, Kirsten Pfaue | Photo: Dominik Buhl, EXPERI

16:30 - 17:00

Session 3: Potential of the transport transition for the housing market
Numerous studies study the distribution of street space and call for the redistribution of public space on the basis of the current distribution of space. Neighbourhood blocks are being created, bicycle streets are being built, and districts are planning the traffic calming of entire neighbourhoods. But how might the shift towards climate-neutral cities affect the distribution of space outside the streets? How much space is taken up by car infrastructure outside the street space, e.g. by petrol stations, car rentals, car parks, garages and car dealerships - and how much potential does the transport transition create for more houses for people instead of cars? In this session, we will look at the current land use of the off-street automobile infrastructure and the land potentials that the transport transition creates, using Berlin as an example. Based on best practices, we will look at how land conversion from car infrastructure to alternative uses has already been implemented and discuss possible levers to leverage the potentials of the transport transition for the housing market.

  • Presentation: Study results status-quo-analysis land consumption "off-street automobile infrastructure Berlin" | Alexander Czeh, EXPERI / German Aerospace Centre (DLR) Institute of Transport Research

17:00 - 17:15

Conclusion
Dr Julia Jarass, EXPERI / German Aerospace Centre (DLR) Institute of Transport Research

17:15

Get together & Fade out

 

Friday, 07.10.2022
Excursion programme

10:00 - 11:30

EXPERI Real world experiment: city square Charlottenburg
This excursion will visit the city square (Stadtplatz) in Charlottenburg. Here, the EXPERI research group transformed the intersection into a city square for one month in autumn 2020. It will be explained how the legal traffic regulations were met, what special features had to be taken into account, how the area was used and how the change was accepted by the residents and businesses. After controversial and emotional discussions, part of the area has now been permanently redesigned as a town square. During a workshop with residents and the Prinzessinnengärten collective in summer 2021, ideas were developed that can now be viewed on site: Raised flower beds, seating and greenery invite you to linger. The excursion shows how the transport transition can be implemented on a small scale and what potentials arise.

Meeting point: Horstweg 1, 14059 Berlin

Exkursion zum Stadtplatz Charlottenburg während der EXPERI-Fachtagung 2022 | Foto: Peter Schust, EXPERI
Excursion to the city square Charlottenburg during the EXPERI symposium 2022 | Photo: Peter Schust, EXPERI
Exkursion zum Stadtplatz Charlottenburg während der EXPERI-Fachtagung 2022 | Fotos: Peter Schust, EXPERI
Excursion to the city square Charlottenburg during the EXPERI symposium 2022 | Photos: Peter Schust, EXPERI
Charlottenburg 2

10:00 - 11:30

Lausitzer Platz
“Lausi”, as Lausitzer Platz is affectionately called by Berliners, is a city square in the northern part of Kreuzberg. It is located directly above Skalitzer Straße at Görlitzer Park. The square has a long history. Since the end of 2020, the square and its surrounding streets are now being transformed into a pedestrian zone under a participatory process. The aim of the pedestrian zone is, among other things, to increase the amenity value of the public space and to maximise traffic safety on the streets, so that children, for example, can get to school safely. However, the changes associated with the redesign process, especially on an everyday level, trigger a wide range of emotional reactions. Sometimes conflicts arise. In this excursion, we want to take a closer look with experts at how the redesign is perceived, which participatory elements were implemented at the Lausi and what we can take away from the real world experiment for other participatory formats of the mobility transition.

Meeting point: In front of the restaurant Baraka, Lausitzer Platz 6, 10997 Berlin

Exkursion zum Lausitzerplatz während der EXPERI-Fachtagung 2022 | Foto: Dominik Buhl, EXPERI
Excursion to Lausitzerplatz during the EXPERI symposium 2022 | Photo: Dominik Buhl, EXPERI

10:00 - 11:30

Kindergarten in a former multi-storey car park
The Dresdener Straße day care centre is the conversion of a multi-storey car park into a day care centre with 136 crèche places. The multi-storey car park, which was built in 1971-74, was converted during the international building exhibition of 1984-87 so that 4 mezzanine floors and the roof garden can be used by the day-care centre. This site thus offers an exciting example of the potentials of the transport transition for the conversion of areas of former car infrastructure. During the guided tour we will learn, for example, how architectural tricks were used as early as the 1980s to develop the building into a place with a high amenity value and low energy consumption, even without demolition and thus in a climate-friendly way.

Meeting point: Dresdener Str. 128, 10999 Berlin

Exkursion zur Kindertagesstätte Dresdener Straße während der EXPERI-Fachtagung 2022 | Foto: Ella Eisemann, EXPERI
Excursion to the Dresdener Straße daycare center during the EXPERI symposium 2022 | Photo: Ella Eisemann, EXPERI
EN

Fachtagung_Logo_2022-07-12

Die interdisziplinäre Nachwuchsforschungsgruppe EXPERI lud Akteur*innen aus Forschung, Verwaltung, Stadt- und Mobilitätsplanung, Zivilgesellschaft und Wirtschaft zur Vorstellung der Zwischenergebnisse ein. Die Verkehrswende erfolgreich umzusetzen, bedeutet auch, die knappe Ressource des öffentlichen Raums neu zu denken und zu verteilen. Daher stellten wir erste Forschungsergebnisse rund um das Thema Flächenverteilung und Umgestaltung vor und freuten uns, sie gemeinsam mit Ihnen zu diskutieren.

Wann: Donnerstag, 06.10.2022 | Freitag, 07.10.2022

Wo: POP KUDAMM - Place of Participation, Kurfürstendamm 229, 10719 Berlin

EXPERI-Fachtagung 2022 im POP KUDAMM | Fotos: Peter Schust, EXPERI
POP2

Neben der Vorstellung der Forschungsergebnisse hat es einen Impulsvortrag zum Berliner Mobilitätsgesetz, weitere Schnittstellen-Ergebnisse aus dem DLR Forschungsprojekt „Vernetzte Mobilität für lebenswerte Orte“ (VMo4Orte) sowie Exkursionen zu drei Orten der Verkehrswende in Berlin gegeben.


Programmrückblick:
Donnerstag, 06.10.2022

Moderation:

10:00

Begrüßung
Dr. Julia Jarass, EXPERI / Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) Institut für Verkehrsforschung

10:10

Impulsvortrag: Berliner Mobilitätsgesetz
Prof. Dr. Sophia Becker, Mobilitätsforscherin / Vizepräsidentin für Nachhaltigkeit, interne Kommunikation, Transfer und Transdisziplinarität der Technischen Universität Berlin

10:30 - 11:30

Session 1: Gerechtigkeit in der Mobilitätswende
Die theoretisch wissenschaftlichen aber auch öffentlichen Diskurse über den ungerechten Status Quo der Mobilität nehmen zu. In dieser Session wird es darum gehen, ein umfassendes Gerechtigkeitsverständnis von Mobilität zu erarbeiten. Dieses Verständnis beschäftigt sich nicht nur mit der Frage welche Aspekte auf welche Art und Weise Einfluss auf Verteilungsfragen von Mobilität haben, sondern auch um die Frage der Beteiligung als Mechanismus, um Ungerechtigkeiten sichtbar und adressierbar zu machen. Wie wird in der Berliner Mobilitätswende beteiligt? Gemeinsam wollen wir daran anschließend überlegen, welche Erkenntnisse wir daraus für die Planung und Umsetzung der Mobilitätswende mitnehmen können.

  • Vortrag: Gerechtigkeit in der Mobilitätswende – Verteilungs- und Beteiligungsbelange der (Berliner) Mobilitätswende | Anke Kläver, EXPERI / Institut für Transformative Nachhaltigkeitsforschung in Potsdam (IASS) und Victoria Luh, Institut für Transformative Nachhaltigkeitsforschung in Potsdam (IASS)

11:30 - 11:50

Einführung: Visual Utopias
Jan Kamensky: "(...) I'm convinced that it's important to see what happens if we transform car-dominated streets into human-friendly places. My utopian animations present visual arguments for change. (...)"

11:50 - 13:30

Mittagspause & Besuch der Ausstellung mit Visualisierungen "Visual Utopias" von Jan Kamensky

13:30 - 15:00

Session 2: Straßen werden zu Plätzen & Kiezblocks – Erkenntnisse aus der (temporären) Umgestaltung
In dieser Session geht es um die Veränderungen des Straßenraums zu lebenswerten Orten. Wir gehen der Frage nach, wie diese Veränderungen in Form von Realexperimenten von der Bevölkerung wahrgenommen und akzeptiert werden und welche Implikationen sich für die beteiligten Akteure aus Forschung, Verwaltung und Zivilgesellschaft ergeben. Im Rahmen von EXPERI wurden drei (temporäre) Umgestaltungen in drei Berliner Bezirken beforscht und zum Teil initiiert. Dabei kommt es zu sichtbaren Veränderungen in der Infrastruktur, die unter anderem (Verhaltens-)Veränderungen von bisher privilegierten Verkehrsteilnehmenden voraussetzen und zu Reaktanz führen können. Es stellt sich daher die Frage, wie eine tiefgehende Akzeptanz in der Berliner Bevölkerung geschaffen werden kann. Dies wird u.a. anhand psychologischer Faktoren untersucht und betrachtet, welche Rolle Emotionen im Kontext der Verkehrswende haben und welcher Umgang damit sinnvoll ist. Welche Auswirkungen sich durch die Umgestaltungen auf Lärm und Verkehrsfluss ergeben, wird im Rahmen des DLR-Projekts VMo4Orte – Vernetzte Mobilität für lebenswerte Orte untersucht. Die gesammelten Erkenntnisse werden in dieser Session vorgestellt.

  • Vortrag: Die Verkehrswende unter einem Brennglas - Erfahrungen aus drei (temporären) Umgestaltungen in Berlin | Dr. Julia Jarass, EXPERI / Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) Institut für Verkehrsforschung
  • Vortrag: Akzeptanz von Kiezblocks - Welche Rolle spielen Emotionen und wahrgenommene Fairness? Katharina Götting | EXPERI / Institut für Transformative Nachhaltigkeitsforschung in Potsdam (IASS)

15:00 - 15:30

Kaffeepause

15:30 - 16:30

Podiums-/Fishbowl-Diskussion: Übertragbarkeit in die Praxis
Mit Vertreter*innen, u.a. der Berliner Bezirke, und gemeinsam mit dem Publikum diskutieren wir, welchen Nutzen die Erkenntnisse zur Flächenumverteilung in der Praxis haben und welche Stellschrauben es gibt.

  • Saskia Ellenbeck, Bezirksstadträtin für Ordnung, Straßen, Grünflächen, Umwelt und Naturschutz | Bezirksamt Tempelhof-Schöneberg
  • Kirsten Pfaue, Koordinatorin für die Mobilitätswende der Stadt Hamburg
  • Oliver Schruoffeneger, Bezirksstadtrat für Ordnung, Umwelt, Straßen und Grünflächen | Bezirksamt Charlottenburg-Wilmersdorf
  • Felix Weisbrich, Leiter des Straßen- und Grünflächenamtes | Bezirksamt Friedrichshain-Kreuzberg
Felix Weisbrich, Saskia Ellenbeck, Dr. Tanja Busse, Oliver Schruoffeneger, Kirsten Pfaue | Foto: Dominik Buhl, EXPERI
Felix Weisbrich, Saskia Ellenbeck, Dr. Tanja Busse, Oliver Schruoffeneger, Kirsten Pfaue | Foto: Dominik Buhl, EXPERI

16:30 - 17:00

Session 3: Potenzial der Verkehrswende für den Wohnungsmarkt
Zahlreiche Studien beschäftigen sich mit der Flächenverteilung des Straßenraumes und fordern auf Basis der aktuellen Flächenverteilung die Neuaufteilung des öffentl. Raumes. Kiezblocks entstehen, Fahrradstraßen werden angelegt, Bezirke planen die Verkehrsberuhigung ganzer Stadtteile. Wie könnte sich aber die Verkehrswende hin zu klimaneutralen Städten auf die Flächenverteilung außerhalb des Straßenraumes auswirken? Wie viel Platz nimmt Pkw-Infrastruktur außerhalb des Straßenraumes durch z.B. durch Tankstellen, Auto-Vermietungen, Parkhäuser, Autowerkstätten und Autohäuser ein - und wie viel Potential schafft die Verkehrswende für mehr Häuser für Menschen statt Autos? In dieser Session schauen wir am Bsp. von Berlin auf die aktuelle Flächennutzung der Off-Street Automobile Infrastructure und den Flächenpotentialen, die die Verkehrswende erzeugt. Anhand von Best Practices schauen wir, wie Flächenumwandlung von Pkw-Infrastruktur hin zu alternativen Nutzungen bereits umgesetzt wurde und diskutieren über mögliche Hebel, um die Potentiale der Verkehrswende für den Wohnungsmarkt zu heben.

  • Vortrag: Studienergebnisse Status-Quo-Analyse Flächenverbrauch „Off-Street Automobile Infrastructure Berlin" | Alexander Czeh, EXPERI / Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) Institut für Verkehrsforschung

17:00 - 17:15

Abschluss
Dr. Julia Jarass, EXPERI / Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) Institut für Verkehrsforschung

17:15

Get Together & Ausklang

 

Freitag, 07.10.2022
Exkursionsprogramm

10:00 - 11:30

EXPERI Realexperiment: Stadtplatz Charlottenburg
Bei dieser Exkursion wird der Stadtplatz in Charlottenburg besucht. Hier hat die Forschungsgruppe EXPERI im Herbst 2020 die Kreuzung für einen Monat zu einem Stadtplatz umgestaltet. Es wird erklärt, wie verkehrsrechtlich vorgegangen wurde, welche Besonderheiten es zu beachten gab, wie die Fläche genutzt wurde und wie die Veränderung von der Bewohnerschaft und den Gewerbetreibenden akzeptiert wurde. Durchaus kontrovers und emotional diskutiert, wurde mittlerweile ein Teil der Fläche dauerhaft zum Stadtplatz umgestaltet. Bei einem Workshop mit Anwohner:innen und dem Kollektiv Prinzessinnengärten wurden im Sommer 2021 Ideen entwickelt, die nun vor Ort besichtigt werden können: Hochbeete, Sitzgelegenheiten und Begrünung laden zum Verweilen ein. Die Exkursion zeigt, wie die Verkehrswende im Kleinen umgesetzt werden kann und welche Potenziale sich ergeben.

Treffpunkt: Horstweg 1, 14059 Berlin

Exkursion zum Stadtplatz Charlottenburg während der EXPERI-Fachtagung 2022 | Foto: Peter Schust, EXPERI
Exkursion zum Stadtplatz Charlottenburg während der EXPERI-Fachtagung 2022 | Foto: Peter Schust, EXPERI
Exkursion zum Stadtplatz Charlottenburg während der EXPERI-Fachtagung 2022 | Fotos: Peter Schust, EXPERI
Exkursion zum Stadtplatz Charlottenburg während der EXPERI-Fachtagung 2022 | Fotos: Peter Schust, EXPERI
Charlottenburg 2

10:00 - 11:30

Lausitzerplatz
Der „Lausi“, wie der Lausitzer Platz von den Berliner*innen liebevoll genannt wird, ist ein Stadtplatz im nördlichen Ortsteil Kreuzbergs. Er liegt unmittelbar oberhalb der Skalitzer Straße am Görlitzer Park. Der Platz hat eine lange Geschichte. Seit Ende 2020, wird der Platz und seine umliegenden Straßen jetzt unter Beteiligungsverfahren zu einer Fußgänger*innenzone umgestaltet. Ziel der Fußgänger*innenzone ist es unter anderem die Aufenthaltsqualität im öffentlichen Raum zu erhöhen und die Verkehrssicherheit auf den Straßen zu maximieren, sodass beispielsweise Kinder sicher zur Schule kommen. Doch die mit dem Umgestaltungsprozess verbundenen Veränderungen insbesondere auf alltäglicher Ebene, lösen unterschiedlichste emotionale Reaktionen aus. Teils kommt es zu Konflikten. In dieser Exkursion wollen wir uns mit Expert*innen genauer anschauen, wie die Umgestaltung wahrgenommen wird, welche partizipativen Elemente am Lausi durchgeführt wurden und was wir aus dem Realexperiment für weitere partizipative Formate der Mobilitätswende mitnehmen können.

Treffpunkt: Vor dem Restaurant Baraka, Lausitzer Platz 6, 10997 Berlin

Exkursion zum Lausitzerplatz während der EXPERI-Fachtagung 2022 | Foto: Dominik Buhl, EXPERI
Exkursion zum Lausitzerplatz während der EXPERI-Fachtagung 2022 | Foto: Dominik Buhl, EXPERI

10:00 - 11:30

Kindergarten in ehemaligem Parkhaus
Bei der Kindertagesstätte Dresdener Straße handelt es sich um den Umbau eines Parkhauses in eine Kita mit 136 Krippenplätzen. Das Parkhaus, welches 1971-74 errichtet wurde, wurde im Rahmen der internationalen Bauaustellung von 1984-87 so umgebaut, dass 4 Halbgeschosse und der Dachgarten von der Kita genutzt werden können. Damit bietet dieser Ort ein spannendes Beispiel für die Potenziale der Verkehrswende für die Umnutzung von Flächen früherer Pkw-Infrastruktur. Während der Führung erfahren wir zum Beispiel, wie bereits in den 80er Jahren architektonische Kniffe angewandt wurden, um das Gebäude auch ohne Abriss und somit klimaschonend zu einem Ort mit hoher Aufenthaltsqualität und geringem Energieverbrauch zu entwickeln.

Treffpunkt: Dresdener Str. 128, 10999 Berlin

Exkursion zur Kindertagesstätte Dresdener Straße während der EXPERI-Fachtagung 2022 | Foto: Ella Eisemann, EXPERI
Exkursion zur Kindertagesstätte Dresdener Straße während der EXPERI-Fachtagung 2022 | Foto: Ella Eisemann, EXPERI
DE